You currently do not have flash installed. Please visit

SPARC: Special Education Partnership for the Amicable Resolution of Conflict

Special Education Facilitation and Mediation for Families and Schools. This program is sponsored by the Conflict Resolution Program in cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education.

Requests for facilitation or mediation may be made to either of the following:

DE Department of Education
Exceptional Children and Early Childhood Education
302 735-4210

John G. Townsend Building
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, DE 19901
Fax: 302 739-2388

Conflict Resolution Program
Fran Fletcher
Institute for Public Administration
177 Graham Hall
Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302 831-6812

Positive Behavior Support (PBS)

“PBS is a broad range of systemic and individualized strategies for achieving important social and learning results while preventing problem behavior” (Center on Positive Behavioral Interventions and Support, 2001). The systems change goal of the Delaware Positive Behavior Support Initiative is to have EVERY teacher and administrator in EVERY school district in the state knowledgeable about and engaged in the use of Positive Behavior Supports as a means to enhance the learning of EVERY student.
Currently there are 11 trained and operating PBS Schools.  They are Brandywood Elementary, Forwood Elementary, Maple Lane Elementary, Carrcroft Elementary, Lombardy Elementary, Lancashire Elementary, Harlan Elementary, Claymont Elementary, Springer Middle, P.S. duPont Middle, and the Brandywine Community Center.
You can learn more about PBS at

Instructional Support Team (IST)

The mission of Instructional Support Team is to encourage general, special education, and related service personnel to share the responsibility for the education of ALL students in a school.  This team approach addresses student academic, social and behavioral issues that prevent learning.

Currently there are 11 trained and operating IST schools in Brandywine.  They are Brandywood Elementary, Carrcroft Elementary, Claymont Elementary, Forwood Elementary, Harlan Elementary, Lancashire Elementary, Lombardy Elementary, Maple Lane Elementary, Mount Pleasant Elementary, P.S. duPont Middle, Springer Middle and Talley Middle.

T. Sicoli