Brandywine School District
Student Registration Requirements,
Guidelines and Procedures
Please read these procedures THOROUGHLY and speak with your feeder pattern school's guidance or main building secretary if you have any questions or comments.
All incoming students MUST be registered in your resident feeder school. To find out the registration hours and/or to make an appointment to register your student, please contact your feeder school directly.For information regarding Delaware State Law and School Attendance Requirements, please click here.
In order for students to attend a school outside of their resident feeder pattern school, parents must complete the School Choice Application Process. School Choice information can be found here.
If you have had a change in the family residence you must notify your childs' school(s) of the change immediately. Parents/guardians will have 30 days to update their address with their childs' school(s) via the Change in Family Residence Notification Packet.
Please note that ONLY the legal parent, guardian, relative caregiver (Caregiver Affidavit must be completed) or Division of Family Services (DFS) worker may register a child. If a foster parent brings in an official letter from DFS, that foster parent may register the child. The letter must state that the foster parent is permitted to register and be the school contact for the child.
KINDERGARTEN-SPECIFIC REGISTRATION INFORMATION
- Students entering Kindergarten must turn 5 years of age by August 31st, 2019 in order to start school in the fall of 2019, per Delaware State Law. It is Brandywine School District Policy that there is limited early testing/admittance for students whose birth date falls between Sept. 1st and 15th only.
· If a student turns 5 after August 31st and the parent, legal custodian, guardian or relative caregiver places the child in a private kindergarten and then wishes to register in our school system for the following school year for first grade, the child will be registered for kindergarten since they are not age appropriate.
· Kindergarten Pre-Registration for the 2019-2020 school year begins the week of January 22, 2019, at each K-5 elementary school building in the Brandywine School District. Parents will have until the first day of school in September 2019 to pre-register for Kindergarten. Please contact your resident feeder school prior to visiting the school, as each school sets their own schedule for taking new student registrations.
· If you are applying for the School Choice Program and need to pre-register your child prior to the week of January 22, 2019, please contact your resident feeder school to request that your child be pre-registered early.
The Brandywine School District will continue to offer Full Day Kindergarten (FDK) at no cost, for all students at all elementary schools for the 2019-2020 school year. FDK kindergarten class times will be the same as for grades 1-5 students in each school, approximately 8:35 a.m. – 3:15 p.m. Transportation and lunch will be provided and families may apply for free/reduced lunch.Parents interested in only a half-day kindergarten program will need to register their child in their home/feeder school and complete a Transfer Option form for a location yet to be determined. A minimum enrollment of 18 students is recommended by the state to run the half-day program. Transportation will be provided, if there are enough students to complete the class.
- Parents may complete an application for Free/Reduced Lunch to determine if they are eligible for their Kindergartener to receive it.
- Delaware State Law requires that all kindergartners have a physical prior to entering school. If they do not have the physical before the start of school in August of 2019, then they will be excluded from school beginning in September 2019 and they will not be permitted to attend school until their physical has been done and the report given to the school nurse.
REQUIRED REGISTRATION DOCUMENTATION
THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION MUST BE PRESENTED AT TIME OF REGISTRATION:
A registration determined to be secured by false, misleading, or deliberate omission of information to establish residency will be considered null and void. Making a false written statement is a class A misdemeanor. See 11 Del. C. §1233.
1. Birth Certificate – with raised seal.
A. If the original birth certificate is not available at time of registration, a copy may be presented. (However, the original must be presented within 30 days of the registration or the child is subject to withdrawal from school).
i. If a birth certificate does not contain the parent’s name who is registering, additional guardianship verification is required.
ii. A legal document may be provided if it states the parent’s name, relationship to child and the child’s date of birth.
B. Passport/Visa may be accepted in lieu of birth certificate (only acceptable if no Birth Certificate exists)
Please note, effective October 1, 2010, if your child was born in Puerto Rico you will be required to present the new birth certificate with raised seal in order to register your child in the Brandywine School District. You may visit the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services website for further information.
If you need assistance in retrieving the birth certificate with the raised seal you may visit the Puerto Rico Government website.
2. Child’s Social Security # – (to help ensure that documents are for that specific child in the event there are two public school students within the State of Delaware with the same name) – child will not be excluded from school if number is not provided.
3. Two (2) Proofs of Residence – Parent, legal guardian or relative caregiver of school enterers are required to provide TWO proofs of residency. The proofs of address must contain the name and address of the parent, legal guardian or relative caregiver. Addresses on each proof of residence MUST be the same.
ONE ITEM FROM EACH GROUP MUST BE PROVIDED:
Group A. Proof of Home Ownership or Lease Agreement (one of the below items must be provided)
· Copy of a recent month’s mortgage statement
· Copy of home settlement statement (Used if home was recently purchased and a mortgage statement has not yet been received)
· Copy of the Deed to the property (Used if the property is paid off)
· Rental Agreement (Showing legal parent, legal guardian, or relative caregiver as an occupant)
Group B. Proof of residency (one of the below items must be provided)
· An original utility bill within the past 60 days (Utility bills are gas, electric, cable, internet or landline bills. May NOT be a copy)
· Car registration
· Automobile insurance policy
· Current voter registration card
· Rental insurance policy
· Homeowner’s insurance policy
· Estate tax receipt
· Most current year’s tax documents
· Pay check or pay stub (Must be a recent pay check or pay stub)
· Notarized letter from employer stating that the registrant is their employee and what address they have on file
· Two consecutive bank statements prior to date of registration (New accounts will not be accepted)
· Change of address label on envelope
(Must be the official Post Office notification; normally a yellow sticker on the outside of the envelope by the old address)
· Official letter from a DE State agency such as DHSS, DFS, Dept. of Labor, YRS, TANF
ä If Living in a Residence of Another Person - NOT a Rental Property:
The residence must be the primary residence of the homeowner. The owner of the residence must accompany the parent/legal guardian/relative caregiver at the time of registration and present a DE Driver’s License or State ID for identifying purposes and the information requested as proof of residence, as stated above.
Both parties must complete the Multiple Occupancy Verification Forms stipulating the registering parent/legal guardian/relative caregiver lives in the residence of the homeowner.
Within 30 days – the parent/legal guardian/relative caregiver of the student(s), who are residing with the homeowner, must present two items from Group B.
ä If Living in a Rental Residence of Another Person:
The residence must be the primary residence of the leaseholder. The leaseholder must accompany the parent/legal guardian/relative caregiver at the time of registration and present a DE Driver’s License or State ID for identifying purposes and the information requested as proof of residence, as stated above. All handwritten leases and non-apartment complex leases must be verified by district personnel prior to enrollment.
· Option 1: The leaseholder may add the registering parent/guardian/relative caregiver’s and child/children’s names onto their lease agreement.
Within 30 days – the parent/legal guardian/relative caregiver of the student(s), who are residing with the leaseholder, must present two items from Group B.
· Option 2: If the names of the registering parent/legal guardian/relative caregiver and child/children are not on the leaseholder’s lease agreement, a Landlord Verification from the apartment complex/landlord must be completed and notarized attesting to the fact that the registering parent/legal guardian/relative caregiver and student(s) are in residence
Within 30 days – the parent/legal guardian/relative caregiver of the student(s), who are residing with the leaseholder, must present two items from Group B.
4. Registration Forms – (Items MUST be completed and submitted at time of registration. Please note that some forms must be filled out in front of BSD Personnel).
(To be completed in front of BSD Personnel)
F. Emergency Card (Please be advised that if a newly registered student does not provide a completed emergency card they may not attend until those cards are completed and provided to the building registration secretary/administrative assistant)
G. Transcript / Most Recent Report Card
H. Release of Records Request (This form is school-specific. You will fill this out at the school you are registering with)
5. Student Health History Documentation
A. Physical Examination Form (PreK-6) (Physical examination must have been performed within the past 24 months)
B. Physical Examination Form (7-12) (Physical examination must have been performed within the past 24 months)
C. Proof of Immunizations
i. Immunization Record – must state month/year for each immunization.
According to 14 Del. C. § 131, a principal or person in charge of a school shall not permit a child to enter into school without acceptable evidence of immunization. The legal parent/guardian shall be notified of this requirement in writing based on 14 Del. C. § 131 (a)(9). Registration will be finalized once proof of full or partial immunization is obtained from the legal parent/guardian. Student will be monitored until all immunizations have been completed.
a. DtaP, DTP or DT – 5 or more doses unless 4th dose was given after the 4th birthday.
b. OPV or IPV – 4 or more doses unless 3rd dose was given after the 4th birthday.
c. MMR – 2 doses – first dose should be administered on or after the age of 12 months. The second dose should be administered after the 4th birthday.
d. Hepatitis B – 3 doses.
e. Varicella – Varicella vaccine, Varicella lab evidence or documentation from the health care provider that the student has had the disease. New students coming into K-6 from a private school, out of state, another country, home school, etc. must have 2 doses of the vaccine.
f. Mantoux Tuberculin Skin Test or Pediatric TB Risk Assessment with results reported within the past 12 months.
g. Evidence of Lead Blood Test – Documentation for children age 5 or younger.
ii. If proof of full immunization requirements is not available, the child must have proof of the following:
a. One dose of DtaP, DTP or DT and
b. One dose of IPV or OPV and
c. One dose of measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine.
d. First dose of the Hepatitis B series.
e. One dose of Varicella vaccine.
Please Note: Starting with the 2012-2013 school year, Delaware schools will require that all students entering 9th Grade must have a current health examination on file. The health examination must have been done within two years of entry into 9th Grade and must be received within 30 days from the start of school. The following forms will be accepted:
a) Delaware School Health Examination Form (2012 form; see registration forms section) or
b) Delaware School Health Examination Form (prior to 2012); or
c) DIAA Pre-Participation Physical Evaluation form (can be accessed at: https://www.doe.k12.de.us/domain/353)
d) Health Examination or evaluation document on a form which includes, at a minimum: healthy history, immunizations, results of medical testings and screenings, medical diagnoses, prescribed medications and treatments, and healthcare plans.
GUARDIANSHIP RULES AND REGULATIONS
WHO IS ALLOWED TO REGISTER A STUDENT?
ONLY the parent, legal guardian, relative caregiver (Caregiver Affidavit must be completed) or Division of Family Services (DFS) worker may register a child. If a foster parent brings in an official letter from DFS, that foster parent may register the child. The letter must state that the foster parent is permitted to register and be the school contact for the child.
1. Child must reside with the parent, legal guardian or relative caregiver – the child must be legally under the care of the adult(s) with whom they reside to attend a Brandywine School District school.
2. Person registering must be the legal custodial parent, legal guardian, relative caregiver, or Division of Family Services worker. If a foster parent brings in an official letter from DFS, that foster parent may register the child. The letter must state that the foster parent is permitted to register and be the school contact for the child.
3. Custody documents may be necessary to establish the legal guardianship and to determine residential custody.
4. When both parents are granted shared custody, the child may be considered a resident of either parent’s district – UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES SHALL A CHILD BE ENROLLED IN 2 DIFFERENT SCHOOLS OR 2 DIFFERENT SCHOOL DISTRICTS AT THE SAME TIME.
5. When one parent is awarded sole custody, the child shall be considered a resident of the district in which the sole custodian resides.
6. When both parents are granted custody, the child shall be considered a resident of the district in which the primary residential parent resides.
7. Power of Attorney is NOT acceptable documentation – exception: Power of Attorney from the proper Military Branch for service personnel being deployed.
8. Family Court Petition is NOT acceptable documentation
9. Interim Family Court Order for guardian is accepted for registration – however, if the Interim Order is only valid for a specified period of time, a Final Order must be obtained and given to the school before the end date of the Interim Order.
10. Notarized statements are NOT acceptable* for a non-legal parent, guardian or relative caregiver to register the child for school.
* A stepparent is allowed to register for the legal parent IF a notarized letter from the legal parent is given and includes the name of the stepparent and child. Also, a copy of the marriage certificate must accompany the notarized letter from the legal parent for additional proof that the person registering is the stepparent.
11. Court documents must be dated and signed by a Commissioner or Judge. These documents will be copies only – original retained in the Court House.
a. All out-of-state Court Orders must be certified (seal) – this must be the original document not a reproduced version.
b. The legal/parent/guardian must apply for a Final Court Order through Family Court in Delaware after the child is registered for school.
When moving within the district from one Brandywine School District School to another, all that is required for registration is two proofs of new residence and completion of a new registration form. Upon receipt of the student’s file, the file should be checked to verify that all required registration information is in the file. If not, a letter needs to be sent to the parent mentioning that upon review of the file, the following information is missing and must be presented within 30 days from the date of the letter.
In Delaware families are fortunate to have the Delaware School Choice Program that allows parents the opportunity to enroll their children in the school system that will most benefit them. The Brandywine School District has become such a popular choice that some students are being brought in from outside of Delaware and illegally enrolled in the district schools.
Because several schools border the Pennsylvania line very closely, the Brandywine School District has combated this problem by establishing a process of determining residency. If a student has been determined to be illegally attending our schools, charges and financial restitution is sought. Each of these individuals falsely attending a Brandywine School District school is costing the taxpayers approximately $10,000 per student and will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law – offending parties will also be responsible for reimbursing the district the full tuition cost and court cost for each child in our system.
The Brandywine School District takes this matter very seriously and will not tolerate the theft of services.
All students applying for School Choice must be either attending a public school in the state of Delaware – or – be pre-registered in a public school in order for their Choice application to be processed.
Pre-registration for the next school year must be done at the feeder school the child would be attending for the current school year. For example, if the child is presently in 5th grade and wants to pre-register for 6th grade, registration must take place at the 5th grade feeder school. Pre-registration for kindergarten students works in the same manner – register the student at the KN feeder school. Students must be in the “eSchool” system in order for the parents/guardians/caregivers to apply for Choice. Students who register at the middle school – presently in 8th grade pre-registering for 9th grade, will need to make course selections at the high school level once Choice has been granted and the school is prepared to complete the course selection process. When Choice is approved by the Brandywine School District, the letter that is sent from the Choice office will require parents to call their Choice School to see what is needed to complete the Choice process with the Choice school.
The Homeless Coordinator of the district will be notified of all homeless registrations.
Children being registered under the McKinney-Vento Homeless Act must be registered by their legal parent/guardian and admitted to school even if the registration procedures cannot be met. However, the parent/legal guardian must present all information within 30 days in order for the child to remain in our school system.
Division of Family Services placement into a foster home shall attend school in accordance with the McKinney-Vento Homeless Education Assistance Improvement Act (42 U.S.C. §§ 11431 to 11435).
For questions in regards to the McKinney-Vento Homeless Education Assistance Improvement Act or to see if your family qualifies for registering as a homeless family, please contact Lorraine James at (302) 761-7420 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Brandywine School District Registration form includes a box with three questions (required by Delaware Department of Education) that are imperative to the identification of English language learners:
- Does your child speak a language other than English?
- Is another language other than English spoken in the home?
- Was your child born outside the USA?
If the answer to ANY of these three questions is “yes” the parents/guardians should also complete the Home Language Survey at the time of registration. The school is to forward a copy of the completed Registration form and the Home Language Survey to the Brandywine School District Title I/ ESL Office immediately.
School staff shall not take it upon themselves to refer or withhold information to the Title I/ESL Office solely based on race, ethnicity, name, or verbal conversation. School staff shall use the information provided by the parents/guardians through the Registration form and Home Language Survey to refer to the Title I/ESL Office.
The Title I/ ESL Office will:
- Review the information,
- Check state records for previous ELL services (if any),
- If needed, inform the school’s ESL Tutor/Teacher to administer the ACCESS for ELLs® assessment of English language proficiency (which is to be completed as soon as practicable, but not later than twenty-five school days after enrollment)
For additional information in regards to student registration, please contact Stacy Karpinski at (302) 793-5067 or email@example.com