English Language Arts - ELA

ELA
  • At Talley Middle School, the English Department empowers our students to become engaged learners who accept the challenge for their own learning and success.  ELA courses at Talley are based on the Common Core Standards for English Language Arts, which are measured on the Smarter Balanced State Assessment.

     http://www.corestandards.org/

     

    ELA Teachers

Name: Grade: E-mail:
Deborah Halligan 6th deborah.halligan@bsd.k12.de.us
Steven Weaver 6th steven.weaver@bsd.k12.de.us
Laura Bozentka 7th laura.bozentka@bsd.k12.de.us
Meghan Rogers 7th meghan.rogers@bsd.k12.de.us
Jackie Ferry 8th jacqueline.ferry@bsd.k12.de.us
Michelle Brymer 7th & 8th michelle.brymer@bsd.k12.de.us
Janet Kuders (Reading Specialist) 6th, 7th, & 8th janet.kuders@bsd.k12.de.us
Paula Mitchell (ELA & AVID) 7th & 8th paula.mitchell@bsd.k12.de.us
  • ELA Curriculum

     
    Marking Period Skills: 

          MP1:  Close Reading and Literary Analysis
                    **Writing Focus - Narrative Writing
     
          MP2:  Working with Evidence, Evidence Based Claims
                   **Writing Focus - Informative Writing
     
          MP3:  Understanding Perspective, Argumentation
                   **Writing Focus - Argumentative Wrting
     
    MP4:  Poetry/Drama/Public Speaking
     
    Marking period skills are taught using novels, non-fiction texts, articles, poetry, short stories, essays, author interviews and videos.  We support rigorous curriculum in the ELA classroom.  Texts that are used have met both qualitative and quantitative guidelines.  In addition, evidence- based strategies are used daily to ensure student growth.  These strategies include PALS (Peer-Assisted Reading Strategy), Reciprocal Teaching and Reading Guides.