Math

  • Welcome to the world of mathematics at Talley Middle school. Our goal is to give every child the opportunity and encouragement in our math classrooms that will enable them to be more successful mathematicians.

    The Brandywine School District is using a new math curriculum in middle schools.  It’s called Illustrative Mathematics and is written to address the Common Core State Standards for Mathematics. Instead of teacher-led instruction every day, students spend much of their time in class working to understand why and how math works. Students walk away from lessons knowing that math is interconnected and always makes sense. Students are much more active in math classrooms. They are expected to collaborate, explain their thinking, and connect strategies to make sense of math skills.

    We are working to share additional resources that families may use to support students. Each lesson includes a summary in the student book. Consider reviewing these often with your student.

    Another great resource for families is videos of lessons and practices uploaded by teachers on schoology.  The videos offer a great opportunity to review the day's lessons and practice new concepts.

    Please have your student log onto their schoology accounts to review those materials. Visit the links on this page to learn more about our curriculum. If you have any questions, please contact your student’s teacher.

     

  • Math Curriculum

     

    6th Grade

    7th Grade

    8th Grade

    Algebra 1: 
    Graphing and Writing Linear Equations, Writing and Graphing Linear Inequalities, Linear Systems, Exponents and Exponential Equations, Polynomials, Irrational Numbers, and Quadratic Equations.

    Geometry:
    Points, Lines, Planes, and Angles, Parallel Lines and Planes, Triangles, Quadrilaterals, Similar Polygons, Right Triangles and Trigonometry, Circles, Volume of Solids, Coordinate Geometry.

     

Math
Name: Grade: E-mail
Lens Nell-Jean (Math Coach) 6th, 7th, & 8th lens.jean@bsd.k12.de.us
David Lutes 6th david.lutes@bsd.k12.de.us
Yavet Respes 6th yavet.respes@bsd.k12.de.us
Margaret Pierce 7th margaret.pierce@bsd.k12.de.us
Dexter Gibbs 7th & 8th dexter.gibbs@bsd.k12.de.us
Kirk Andersen 8th kirk.andersen@bsd.k12.de.us
Alonzo Delaine 8th alonzo.delaine@bsd.k12.de.us
Gina DiBattista 6th, 7th, & 8th gina.dibattista@bsd.k12.de.us